Gold Standard Panel

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) has assembled a team of sleep scorers from different backgrounds in sleep, each with extensive experience in sleep record scoring and review. The AASM Gold Standard for scoring is based on a consensus formed by the Gold Standard Panel.
Scott G. Williams, MD

Scott G. Williams, MD, is a Professional Education Development Consultant for the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. He is board certified in internal medicine, psychiatry and sleep medicine and currently serves as the Director for Medicine at the Fort Belvoir Community Hospital. He has previously served as chief and medical director of sleep medicine at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and chief of sleep medicine at the Womack Army Medical Center. He is an associate professor of medicine and psychiatry at the Uniformed Service University of the Health Sciences and serves as chair of the AASM technologist and respiratory therapist education committee. He is active in research, specifically focused on sleep disorders in the military population.

Mark A. McCarthy, MD

Mark A. McCarthy, MD completed his graduate and fellowship training at Tulane University in New Orleans. He currently practices Sleep Medicine and serves as the Medical Director of the Delgado Community College CAAHEP Accredited Polysomnography Program as well as an AASM Accredited Sleep Center. Dr. McCarthy has long been involved in education and has been an active member of the Louisiana Academy of Sleep Medicine, previously serving as its President and currently serving as its Treasurer. Dr. McCarthy is a fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. He has practiced sleep medicine since 1998.

Michael J. Zachek, MD

Michael J. Zachek, MD is board certified in internal medicine, pulmonary and critical care medicine as well as sleep medicine and has been working in the field of sleep for more than two decades. He is the medical director of three accredited sleep centers and his AASM functions include being a site visitor for both center and DME certification as well as serving as a gold standard scorer. He believes that developing a national consensus regarding the scoring of polysomnography is vital for improving sleep research and patient care.

Faye Burnette, RRT, RPSGT

Faye Burnette, RRT, RPSGT is the supervisor of the Sleep Disorders Center at Womack Army Medical Center, Fort Bragg, NC. She has 35 years of experience in healthcare beginning as a cardiology technician then to a respiratory therapist and finally moving to a full-time sleep technology position 15 years ago. She received her AAS in Respiratory Therapy from Fayetteville Technical Community College in Fayetteville, NC and attended the University of North Carolina. She has been involved in sleep technology since 1995. Presently, she is the Supervisor of the Sleep Disorders Lab at Womack Army Medical Center, Fort Bragg, NC.

Claude Albertario, RST, RPSGT

Claude Albertario, RST, RPSGT is Lead Technologist at the Weill Cornell Medical College Pediatric Sleep Center. He received his undergraduate training in Psychobiology at SUNY College at Purchase. Albertario began his career in Sleep Medicine in 1984 at Dr. Elliot Weitzman’s Institute of Chronobiology at New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center. In 1990, he obtained his RPSGT credential. He later received the first publically available RST credential (#100). As an early advocate of digital recording methods, Albertario spearheaded an effort at the Winthrop University Hospital to become the first accredited, paperless sleep center in the world. He helped form the New York State Society of Sleep Medicine in 1998, and presently serves as its secretary, working to shepherd the recently passed sleep tech legislation through the NYS Legislature. His research interests revolve around his invention, z-ratio, a unified metric of sleep/wake. Albertario has sleep apnea, for which he successfully manages with CPAP.